Monday, September 20, 2010

John Legend (Wake Up!)

John Legend's 4th studio album (Wake Up) which he collaborated on with the group The Roots is set to release on September 21, 2010.

"I was in the middle of campaigning for Barack Obama and feeling inspired by the atmosphere in the country at the time,
so I wanted to do something musically that reflected that moment. The original idea was to do some sort of covers EP, but the more I got into it with the Roots, it felt like something that should be heard and marketed on its own".  Billboard Interview.

The album's first single "Wake Up Everybody" is cover of the legendary song made famous by Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes. John Legend recreated this song quite nicely with the help of rapper/actor Common and singer Melanie Fiona. 
"Wake Up Everybody" is also the title track for the movie "Waiting For Superman" thats about a 2010 family documentary film from director Davis Guggenheim and producer Lesley Chilcott.[1] The film analyzes the failures of American public education by following several students through the educational system.
The film received the Audience Award for best documentary at the 2010 Sundance Film Festival. source:

Now anyone who knows me, knows that I am not a big fan of John Legend at all but the concept of this album is truely intriguing to me.

Wake Up Tracklist

1. "Hard Times" (featuring Black Thought)
2. "Compared to What"  

3. "Wake Up Everybody" (featuring Common & Melanie Fiona)

4. "Our Generation (The Hope of the World)" (featuring CL Smooth)

5. "Little Ghetto Boy (Prelude)" (featuring Malik Yusef)

6. "Little Ghetto Boy" (featuring Black Thought)

7. "Hang On In There"  
8. "Humanity (Love the Way It Should Be)"

9. "Wholy Holy"

10. "I Can't Write Left Handed"

11. "I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free"

12. "Shine"
13. "Shine" (Waiting for "Superman" Version)
14. "Wake Up Everybody" (Live in Studio Performance) (feat. Black Thought)



Post a Comment